Skip to content

Quarter-Life Compass

July 28, 2009

When I’m going through a rough time I tend to put myself on repeat. I sleep in. Watch the same shows (whether I’ve seen them already or not). I mess around on the computer. Eat dinner. Watch more TV and play on the computer some more. I read before bed and go to sleep in the early morning. I stop doing things I want to do. I’m terrible at calling friends or even returning phone calls. I don’t even read during the day. I just keep telling myself “I’ll do it tomorrow” or worse “I’ll start it next week”. The few exceptions to this are Thursday night dinners and sometimes weekends. This came up in a recent argument with the hubs and I really do need to do something about it.

So how do I try to fix this? With a list of course!

Those of you who read this probably know by now how much I love list making. I’ve had a blast doing my 101 in 1001 challenge. It literally has helped keep me sane while I’ve been unemployed and has cut down on the monotony. However, it’s more of an adventure. Almost everything on the list is something I want to do for fun and cannot be changed. Not much of it is stuff I need to do. So I made a list of short-term goals that I can change up as life throws stuff at me. I’m calling it my “Quarter-Life Compass”. I’ve added a page for it and a category. I’m hoping posting it on here will help keep me accountable even though I won’t update it like I do my 101. I know this won’t be a quick fix, but it feels like a step in the right direction.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Aманда permalink
    July 28, 2009 12:55 pm

    That sounds like a good idea! I know that when I revised my 101 list, I added things that I needed to do or have been meaning to do, just to give myself the motivation. It’s really difficult otherwise, and having too much time on your hands often hurts more than it helps.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 28, 2009 3:41 pm

      It really does. People think my life must just be great (even Shane) and they don’t realize that it’s only nice have that much free time for so long.

      • Aманда permalink
        July 28, 2009 4:23 pm

        When I became unemployed, it took me some months before I was ok with it and could handle all the free time. When you lose your job, you have to recreate your self-identity, and this is extremely difficult especially when you have all that time to think (bad thinking, that is, not the good kind). Even now, there are days when I can tell it’s getting to me, because I’ll start craving human interaction and losing motivation for doing everything except watch TV or surf the Internet.

        • taraSG permalink
          July 28, 2009 4:37 pm

          I really don’t know how stay-at-home moms do it. My mom hasn’t worked out of the house since I was born. I’m sure my sister and I kept her busy when we were younger, but now we’ve grown up and moved out. I know right now she’s busy with moving, but in general I don’t know how she keeps herself busy all day.

          • Aманда permalink
            July 28, 2009 4:41 pm

            I don’t think I could ever be a stay-at-home mom.

          • taraSG permalink
            July 29, 2009 4:44 am

            Me either.

  2. Chère permalink
    July 28, 2009 2:51 pm

    I can completely relate to this. I think I made my 101 list back in January (I started on my birthday!) because I was in the midst of a bit of a freak-out…thus it does represent a lot of my attempts to regain control over my life…I think at the time I made it I felt like I didn’t have much of that! I’m much more on top of things now, but (ironically?) the things I put on my list still absolutely need to be there!

    Also, when I’m in a rut I do the exact. same. thing. Except there’s nobody to call me on it 🙂

    • taraSG permalink
      July 28, 2009 3:42 pm

      Good to know I’m not the only one 🙂

Leave a comment