Skip to content

Law & Order & Social Issues 2

August 9, 2009

I know I just posted one of these a couple days ago, but I’m completely unmotivated today and I already had this written up…

SVU “Selfish” 2009 – An immature, irresponsible young mother is assumed to have killed her child, but it turns out to be part of a measles outbreak. A.D.A. Cabot then goes after the mother of the child who started the outbreak, who refused to immunize him.

I cannot embed the clip I wanted to thanks to WP. So you have to go here to see it.

After investigating the death of a young child thought to be killed by her young, careless mother (Hilary Duff), it is discovered that the child died from measles. She caught it at a playground from a boy whose mother doesn’t believe in vaccination. The mother of the boy is then charged with murder (what degree, I don’t remember) and the debate of whether children’s vaccinations should be a parent’s decision or not is raised.

I believe that ALL children should get the recommended vaccines (unless they are allergic to them). What about autism? IT IS NOT CAUSED BY VACCINES! There is medical proof of this (the details of which I won’t go into now). Some people think that it isn’t necessary to get their kids vaccinated because not many people get such-and-such disease anymore anyway. That may be true in the US only because we’re all vaccinated against it.

Jenny McCarthy is a huge promoter of the decrease in vaccination. Her boyfriend Jim Carey also supports this. At benefit walk someone asked him what vaccines he thinks aren’t necessary… his response “tetanus”. I’m not sure if you know much about tetanus but it’s near the top of my “ways I don’t want to die” list. Tetanus is everywhere. It’s a bacteria that grows in the dirt. We cannot get rid of it. What does it do to you? It slowly makes all the muscles in your body contract and not release until your heart stops beating or you can no longer breathe.

tetanus

You know what vaccine you don’t really need, but we give it anyway? Rubella (the R in your MMR vaccine). Rubella, or German Measles, is not much worse than Chicken Pox. So why do we all have to get it? Because if a pregnant woman gets rubella, it causes severe birth defects. So we give it to everyone therefore eliminating it from our population.

What do you think?

Should parents have the right to NOT give their children the required vaccines?

I think I’ve said this in the past, but just in case… I will not be offended if you don’t agree with me. I love to argue as long as we’re being intelligent about it and don’t resort to “No, you’re stupid” remarks 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Aманда permalink
    August 9, 2009 4:11 pm

    My opinion is that people should have the right to do what they want to themselves – just nothing that could affect me. For example. If you want to drink yourself to death, fine. Just don’t get in a car and involve me. If you want to smoke, fine. Just don’t do it around me when I have to breathe your smoke involuntarily.

    I do however, think that kids need to be vaccinated. Just because we don’t get the disease in the US doesn’t mean it has been eradicated from the rest of the world. Of course, you could argue the whole natural selection theory here too if you really wanted to. I won’t. Plus, aren’t non-vaccinated children more likely to cause more strain on the health care system than vaccinated children? It should be about prevention.

    People that believe vaccinations cause autism remind me of the people who still believe Obama isn’t a US citizen.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 9, 2009 4:42 pm

      I completely agree. I don’t care of someone is careless with their own health (as long as I’m not paying their hospital bill).

      But with vaccination it’s more of matter of how some of these diseases affect other people and not just the ones not vaccinated (like babies or the elderly). And prevention and keeping these diseases out of the US is a huge necessity for our health care system.

      Hahaha yeah, similar 🙂

      • Aманда permalink
        August 9, 2009 5:13 pm

        With vaccinations, it is less about the person and more about preventing a larger outbreak. I think too many people are self-centered and don’t realize that their actions can affect (and potentially kill) other people. And that is not ok. I also think that more of a focus on prevention would reduce the amount of money we spend on health care.

  2. Chère permalink
    August 9, 2009 6:04 pm

    I agree, especially about the need to prevent a larger outbreak of some of these more awful diseases. However, it concerns me that people just blindly vaccinate their children “because the doctor said so” without at least reading up on what the potential consequences are. Just because it’s part of a larger good doesn’t mean it’s not a tiny bit risky (not talking about Autism, but other types of reactions). I imagine that I would vaccinate my children for all of the reasons outlined in your post, but it wouldn’t be before I knew what I was putting into them, exactly. If after that I still felt okay, then vaccinate away.
    That said, I respect the educated decisions of parents who choose NOT to vaccinate, or to partially vaccinate, or to slow down the vaccination schedule and not do them all at once or when the children are so young. It’s those who just jump on the celeb bandwagon whose choices I can’t respect.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 10, 2009 1:00 am

      I agree that parents need to be better educated. Even those that completely trust their physician and plan on giving their children all the vaccines should read up about it. My only concern is that when one chooses not to vaccinate their child, it’s not only their child they put at risk. I know the show is purely fictional, but in reality an unvaccinated kid is a danger to younger children not old enough to be vaccinated or the elderly whose vaccination may no longer fully protect them. I’m only concerned with the required vaccinations (that which they ask the child has before entering school). Other vaccines that aren’t as threatening, say chicken pox, should solely be up to the parents. My greatest fear is where parents are getting informed. The internet is a great place to do some research, but you can’t overly rely on it for medical advice.

  3. August 10, 2009 9:07 am

    It worries me that there are so many more vaccines now than there were just 20-30 years ago. People have been getting the MMR for ages now, relatively speaking, and autism is increasing more recently – so the factors have to include something else (imho). I think a major factor is that they’re just getting better at diagnosing it – that and the plastics and chemicals/preservatives in food. That’s my (totally personal) theory/opinion.

    The flu shot aggravates me to no end, especially when kids are required to get it before they can enter daycare. I have never had the flu shot in my life and have never had the flu. If you know you have a weakened immune system, then you get it. Don’t force me or my kid, who will probably have my immune system, to get an extra needle. (I feel the same way about the chicken pox vaccine.)

    If you’ve ever watched a baby or toddler get shots, you’d want them to have as few as possible. It’s heartbreaking to watch them look at you like, “Why are you letting that person hurt me?”

    I suspect that when I have kids, I will try a delayed vaccination schedule and will also make sure I understand what each vaccination is for.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 10, 2009 1:28 pm

      I think you’re completely right about them just being able to diagnose autism better now than they used to. I’m not sure about foods and chemicals, I would have agreed with you yesterday, but I watched an interesting show last night talking about organic foods… perhaps I’ll post about that later.

      I feel the exact same way about flu shots. I don’t get them. They are a best guess. It is 3 strains of flu that scientists think will be in season (out of numerous possibilities). I do think the elderly should get it, mostly because the flu could be fatal for them.

      I think it’s extremely important to know about the vaccines before giving them to your children. It always surprised me when I worked in the pharmacy how many parents didn’t ask any questions about the medication for their children. I’ll be the annoying parent making the doctor/pharmacist explain everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

